ST LAURENCE. 1884. Nave and chancel, belfry. In the late E.E. style with cusped lancets. The remarkable thing is that the architect, F. Chancellor, who built the church, using materials of the preceding medieval church, has indulged in an orgy of mixing into his brown stone walls bricks entirely at random and in all directions. Even the window dressings are not completely of brick, but use the brick intermittently without any principle but that of variety. Inside, the W end is divided off by a circular pier into two bays.
STANESGATE PRIORY. The priory was Cluniac, founded probably early in the C12. Of all that the Royal Commission could still describe in 1923, only one wall remains now visible.
Arthur missed it.
No comments:
Post a Comment